The latest from our world

| Consumer Media

23 Oct 2012 12:21

Autocar-Courland Next Generation Award reveals finalists

Haymarket UK's motoring weekly Autocar and Courland have announced the names of the six talented students who have made it through to the final stage of the annual Autocar-Courland Next Generation Award and are still in the running to win a priceless work experience package comprising one month at each of Jaguar Land Rover, McLaren Automotive, Peugeot, Skoda and Toyota – as well as £7500 cash.  
Launched in 2009, the Autocar-Courland Next Generation Award is a national competition designed to identify, support and develop top automotive talent of the future. Open to students across all of the UK, the competition this year asked entrants to describe in 500 words an improvement which they believe would be a worthwhile benefit to the UK automotive business.

Autocar publisher Alastair Lewis said: ‘The 2012 contest has seen an unprecedented number of high quality entries from university students countrywide.  The first and second round judges faced an extremely difficult task in carrying out their evaluations.  We would like to thank all students and university lecturers and faculty heads for embracing the Autocar-Courland Next Generation Award and we look forward to working with them in 2013 as the contest grows and establishes itself on the academic calendar’.

At the competition’s final ‘Dragons Den’ style round, each of the six candidates will have an opportunity to discuss their idea with a mentor before presenting it to an expert panel made up of judges from judges from Autocar, Courland International, Jaguar Land Rover, McLaren Automotive, Peugeot, Skoda, SMMT and Toyota GB. The three top scoring finalists will be invited to the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders’ (SMMT) annual dinner on 27 November, where the winner will be announced.

For more on the Autocar-Courland Next Generation Award, details of last year’s winner, or to keep up to date with announcements from the competition please follow this link to the website or you can follow them on Twitter.

The six Autocar-Courland Next Generation Award finalists:
  • Ross Hannah, Bath University - Automotive lifing system
  • Jonathan Maynard, Brunel University - Cooled EGR discharge
  • Edward Bannister , Coventry University - Acceleration actuated electronic forced aspiration
  • Niall McCann, Bath University - Interactive traffic management system
  • Roberto Antonio Pac, Kingston University - Cylindrical brake system
  • James Benson, Huddersfield University - Car theft prevention system
For more information and to see the full brief click here.

You can also find out more on the event’s Facebook page.

Follow Autocar on Twitter @autocar and on Facebook.

We use cookies to give you the best browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising. By continuing to use our website you are accepting our use of cookies as described in our Cookie Policy.