The latest from our world

| Consumer Media

03 Dec 2012 17:46

World champions fly in for Autosport Awards

Newly-crowned Formula 1 champion Sebastian Vettel and nine-time WRC king Sebastien Loeb headed a star-studded guest list at Sunday’s (2 December 2012) Autosport Awards, as motorsport’s leading names came together for the annual industry ‘Oscars’.

Vettel, F1’s youngest ever triple world champion, was voted International Racing Driver of the Year by readers of Autosport  and received his award in front of 1200 guests at Park Lane’s Grosvenor House Hotel in central London.

Loeb was awarded a Gregor Grant lifetime achievement prize in recognition of his unprecedented success in world rallying, as well as winning the Rally Driver of the Year Award.

Jenson Button picked up the British Competition Driver award following his three 2012 wins for McLaren, but the Racing Car prize was taken by arch-rival Red Bull. BTCC champion Gordon Shedden and the pioneering Nissan DeltaWing sports car were also honoured.

Meanwhile, Jake Dennis became the 24th winner of the coveted McLaren Autosport  BRDC Award.

The teenage British racer beat fellow five finalists to the prize, which includes £100,000 and a McLaren-Mercedes F1 test, following a shoot-out at Silverstone in Formula 2, Mercedes DTM and McLaren GT cars.

Incorporating the UK’s must-read motorsport magazine, the autosport.com website and the annual exhibition Autosport International, the prestigious and star studded Autosport  Awards reaffirm Haymarket Consumer Media’s Autosport brand’s position as the ultimate source of motorsport news and analysis.

For more news on Autosport you can find them on Twitter and on Facebook.

We use cookies to give you the best browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising. By continuing to use our website you are accepting our use of cookies as described in our Cookie Policy.